GHC’19 Experience(Orlando, Florida)

Gunjan Agicha
3 min readOct 5, 2019

My friend went there last year, and she managed to get an intern at GoDaddy through that. Seeing it, I decided to invest in my carer a bit and buy the ticket (450$). I went there with an aim to look for a Data Science Intern position, connect with like-minded people and meet as many women technologists I can and be inspired by their work.

I am doing my master’s in computer science at the University of Texas at Dallas, specializing in Data Science. I have a work experience of 3 years at UnitedHealth Group in their research team, where I built Machine Learning models to improve HealthCare solutions.

At the conference, there are more than 100 companies that have set up their booths. I managed to cover around 50 in 2.5 days there. I had a list of 70 companies I wanted to go (which had Data Science Intern openings) along with their booth numbers. Being prepared helped me a lot. There is a huge crowd attending the conference (25,000 to be precise).

Day1 was supposed to begin at 11:30 a.m. and there was a big line from 9am itself. Everyone was sitting on the floor with their laptops, revising the last minute or doing coding practice on leetcode. It was a crazy sight, so many people waiting for 2–3 hours to be the first one at the booth of their target company. Thankfully, the line didn’t matter at all. Gates to the career fair opened and everyone was in within 5 minutes. The hall is huge! Once inside people dispersed to different booths (mainly fb, apple, microsoft). I saw adobe first, it was just at the…

--

--

Gunjan Agicha

MSCS @UTD, Data Science Intern @Autodesk. If you want to get connected, send request here: https://www.linkedin.com/in/gagicha/